Violation & Fees

If you fail to respond to your citation within 14 days, it may result in a warrant for your arrest being issued with additional fees added. If you are disputing your ticket or need to discuss it for any reason, you must come to the court office in person prior to the 14 days to make an appointment for a pre-trial conference. The prosecutor will allow you to give your story and he will be able to explain the charges and show any evidence against you including video if one is available.

Below are some common violations. Underlined violations require a mandatory appearance before the judge and cannot be paid until you are sentenced. Please keep in mind that all bail amounts listed below are only to be used as guidelines and may vary from the judge's sentence.  For a full 2016 bail scheduled click HERE

CITY CODE
• Dog License violation $100
• Leash law violation/Dog running at large $50
• Junk ordinance violation $200
• Winter parking ordinance (November 1 - April 1) $50
 
DRIVER'S LICENSE VIOLATIONS
• Denied License $60
• Expired Utah License *($10 will be dismissed upon proof of valid DL) $50
• Never obtain Utah License $200
• No Motorcycle License $50
• No valid Utah License in possession *(charge will be dismissed upon presentation of valid UT DL) $50
• Revoked or Suspended $310
• Texting while Driving $360
• Violation of Learner's permit $50
 
INSURANCE (Court appearance required)
• No proof of insurance - 1st offense $400
• No proof of insurance - subsequent offenses $1000
*If there was insurance on the vehicle at the time the citation was 
written, a letter must be submitted from the insurance agent to have
the charge dismissed. The letter should be on company letterhead 
and include: 
1) the driver's name 
2) vehicle information 
3) the exact date of citation 
Insurance cards are not sufficient proof once a citation has been 
issued although the clerk may be able to verify with a local agent
if work load allows. Electronic versions cannot be accepted.
The fax number for the court is (801) 622-2718
 
MECHANICAL CONDITIONS 
• Altered Vehicle $50
• Driving without lights $50
• Failure to secure vehicle $50
• Faulty brakes $50
• Faulty lights $50
• Faulty muffler $50
• No mud flaps $50
• Obscured vision/tinted windshield $50
• Operating an unsafe vehicle $50
*Only if the officer has indicated "fix-it" the charge may be dismissed with proof of compliance by a peace officer.
 
PASSING VIOLATIONS/ WRONG SIDE / WRONG WAY
• Driving on wrong side (Left of center) $120
• Improper backing $120
• Wrong way on one -way street $120
 
RIGHT OF WAY VIOLATIONS
• Failure to yield right of way $120
• Failure to yield to an emergency vehicle $150
• Failure to yield to a pedestrians $120
If you were cited for an accident, an additional $30 is added to the primary charge.
 
SPEEDING
• Too fast for conditions $120
• 1 - 10 mph over limit $120
• 11 - 15 mph over limit $150
• 16 - 20 mph over limit $200
• 21 - 25 mph over limit $270
• 26 - 30 mph over limit $370
• 31 mph or more over limit  $470 plus $10 per mile over 31
 
SPEEDING IN A SCHOOL ZONE
FIRST OFFENSE
• 1 - 9 mph over limit $140
• 10 - 19 mph over limit $240
• 20 or more mph over limit $440
SUBSEQUENT OFFENSES
• 1 - 9 mph over limit $140
• 10 - 19 mph over limit $370
• 20 mph or more over limit $780
 
STOPPING VIOLATIONS
• Failure to stop for school bus - 1st offense $170
• Failure to stop for school bus - 2nd offense $270
• Red light violation $120
• Stop sign violation $120
 
VARIOUS OTHER VIOLATIONS
• Disobeying traffic control device $120
• Driving on wrong side of road $120
• Failure to display license plate $50
• Failure to Register or expired registration *($10 dismissed with valid registration shown) $50
• Failure to Secure Vehicle $50
• Failure to wear seatbelt $45
• Following to close $120
• Handicapped parking $125
• No registration card in Vehicle (charge dismissed with valid registration card) $50
• Open container $110
 
*Proof must be submitted to the court within 14 days.